Skip to Main Content

Travel Grants and Awards

Since 2009, the Association for Jewish Studies has awarded more than $150,000 in travel grant funding to its members. AJS remains committed to supporting wide participation in the conference. In particular, AJS seeks to support untenured faculty, graduate students, independent scholars without full-time employment, and international scholars who receive little to no institutional support for conference travel. Individuals presenting a traditional 15 – 20 minute panel paper are eligible to apply. Anyone who received an AJS travel grant in 2016 must wait until 2018 to apply for another grant.

Application Instructions: Complete the application on Interfolio. It is free to use Interfolio for the travel grant application. If you do not have an account, you can create one free of charge.

Application Materials: 1) CV, 2) Accepted conference paper abstract, and 3) Itemized budget detailing the costs associated with attending the AJS Annual Conference

Application Deadline: Thursday, September 28, 2017

Contact Amy Weiss, Grants and Communications Coordinator, at with questions.

The Association for Jewish Studies thanks its members and the following organizations for their support in funding conference travel grants:

Center for Jewish History

Jewish Music Forum, a project of the American Society for Jewish Music

Knapp Family Foundation

Koret Foundation

Maurice Amado Foundation

Taube Foundation for Jewish Life and Culture

YIVO Institute for Jewish Research

Additional Travel Grant Opportunities

Rosalie Katchen Travel Grant sponsored by Hadassah-Brandeis Institute

The Rosalie Katchen Travel Award is available to junior scholars presenting papers at the AJS annual meeting which deal with Jewish women and gender issues. Scholars who completed their dissertation within the past five years are invited to apply. Four travel grants of up to $250 each are awarded each year. Grants are paid to awardees following the AJS meeting. Grant guidelines are available on the HBI website:

Deadline: November 15, 2017

AJS Women's Caucus Travel Grant

The AJS Women's Caucus awards travel grants to graduate students and independent scholars whose papers contribute to the study of women, feminism, and gender in Jewish studies and have been accepted for presentation at the 2017 conference. Graduate students in all areas of Jewish studies who have not previously received a Women's Caucus Travel Grant are encouraged to apply. The travel grants can be applied towards any conference-related costs (hotel, conference registration, childcare costs, etc.). The application consists of: the AJS abstract/paper proposal; a paragraph explicitly stating how the paper broadens the current understanding of Jews and gender; a copy of the email of acceptance from the AJS; a CV; and a proposed budget that includes other potential sources of financial support.

Deadline: September 15, 2017

Application documents should be electronically submitted as email attachments to The Travel Grant Committee will notify applicants prior to the conference. Winners will also be announced at the Women's Caucus Breakfast and should therefore plan to attend.

Association for the Social Scientific Study of Jewry Travel Grant

The Association for the Social Scientific Study of Jewry (ASSJ) is pleased to announce a travel grant for doctoral students in the social sciences (broadly defined).  At least two awards of $500 each will be granted to students who will present their research at the Association for Jewish Studies annual meeting in December 2017 in Washington, DC.  The grants are intended to recognize promising doctoral students working in the social scientific study of Jewry.  Students presenting papers, in "lightning" sessions, or in roundtables are eligible to apply, but preference may be given to papers.

To apply, please send the following to Prof. Matthew Boxer at by October 10, 2017:


Paper/presentation abstract and title

Department/program and university in which you are enrolled

Degree being pursued

Name of your academic advisor

Grant recipients will be notified by November 3, 2017, and will be recognized at the ASSJ reception that honors Prof. Judit Bokser Liwerant, this year's recipient of the Marshall Sklare Award.  Recipients will be expected to join or renew their membership in the ASSJ for 2018 at the student rate ($25; to join, go to