Skip to Main Content

AAJR Workshop for Early Career Faculty in Jewish Studies

The American Academy for Jewish Research

is pleased to announce a

Workshop for Early Career Faculty in Jewish Studies

to be held at the Herbert D. Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia

May 29-30, 2019

The purpose of this workshop is to support the professional development of early career scholars in Jewish Studies and to help foster connections among scholars across the boundaries of specialization.

The workshop will offer guidance on publishing, teaching, functioning as a “public scholar,” and other kinds of professional skills, and will include opportunities to think together about power, gender, and sexuality in the profession, and conceptions of work-life balance.

Workshop Directors:

Steven Weitzman, Abraham M. Ellis Professor of Hebrew and Semitic Languages and Literatures, and Ella Darivoff Director of the Herbert D. Katz Center for Advanced Judaic Studies, University of Pennsylvania

Lila Corwin Berman, Murray Friedman Professor of History and Director of the Feinstein Center for American Jewish History, Temple University


The workshop is intended for untenured full-time faculty who work primarily in a field of Jewish studies. Post-docs on the job market are eligible to apply, although the workshop will be most relevant to recently hired faculty with long-term positions. AAJR covers the costs for lodging and meals. Participants are expected to turn to their own universities for travel expenses but accepted applicants who do not yet have a university position may be eligible for a modest travel subvention, funding permitting. Enrollment is limited.

Applicants must submit:

1) a curriculum vitae

2) a syllabus for a Jewish studies course s/he has taught

3) a personal statement of research interests and pedagogical goals of not more than 1000 words.

4) a brief description of a topic or issue that you would find it helpful to address during the workshop

Please submit all materials electronically by January 15, 2019, sent jointly to Steven Weitzman at and Lila Corwin Berman at Participants will be notified of their acceptance in mid- February.