Skip to Main Content

Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards

The deadline for the 2021 competition has passed.

The AJS is pleased to announce the 2021 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards, made possible by funding from Jordan Schnitzer through the Harold & Arlene Schnitzer Family Fund of the Oregon Jewish Community Foundation.

Launched in 2008, these awards have annually recognized and promoted outstanding scholarship in the field of Jewish Studies and honored scholars whose work embodies the best in the field: rigorous research, theoretical sophistication, innovative methodology, and excellent writing. The AJS annually awards one winner and one finalist in each of four categories. The categories rotate over a two-year cycle, for a total of eight categories. Each winner will receive $10,000 and each finalist will receive $2,500.

2021 Submission Categories

Books in any of the following fields are eligible for consideration:

» Jewish Literature and Linguistics

» Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History and Culture

» Modern Jewish History and Culture: Africa, Americas, Asia, and Oceania

» Philosophy and Jewish Thought

Submission Deadline

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Eligibility Requirements

Membership: Only current AJS members for the 2021 membership year may submit their books for consideration or be nominated by a publisher. The 2021 membership year runs from January through December.

Copyright Date: Only books with copyright dates of 2019 or 2020 are eligible for the 2021 Jordan Schnitzer Awards.

Language: The Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards are currently only accepting books written in English.

Monographs: Only monographs are eligible for the 2021 Jordan Schnitzer Book Awards. Reference works and edited volumes will not be considered.

Translations: Translations and/or commentaries of a classical work are eligible for submission, as long as the book’s translator or editor is a current AJS member. Translations and/or commentaries of a recent scholarly work are also eligible for submission, but in this case, the original author, who would need to be a current AJS member, would be eligible for the award.

Resubmission: Books may be submitted for consideration no more than two times in a two-year period. Previous winners or finalists may not resubmit the same book.

Submission Instructions

1) Complete the application form for the appropriate book category:

»  Jewish Literature and Linguistics

»  Medieval and Early Modern Jewish History and Culture

»  Modern Jewish History: Africa, Americas, Asia, and Oceania

»  Philosophy and Jewish Thought

2) Book Submissions: Given the potential difficulties associated with shipping during the global pandemic, this year the AJS is accepting e-books or PDFs of the published book. Please send all links or files to, which will then be shared with the judges. Digital versions of the book must be emailed no later than Tuesday, June 15, 2021.

Questions about the book submission process? Please contact Amy Weiss at

Award Notifications

Awards will be announced in late fall 2021, and will be formally presented at a reception at the 53rd Annual Conference in Chicago.


Contact Amy Weiss at