Skip to Main Content

2023 – 2024 Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Awards

The Association for Jewish Studies is pleased to again offer its Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Awards. This program is designed for current AJS member authors who already have secured publishing contracts but who require subventions to ensure publication of their first books. The AJS will grant five awards of $5,000 each, payable directly to the press on behalf of the author. A multidisciplinary committee of scholars will evaluate applications. In deciding how to allocate these funds, the committee will consider both the scholarly significance of the book and the demonstrated need for subvention support. Applications are invited from AJS members in all research disciplines.


  1. •    Applicants must be AJS members for the current 2023 membership year (running from January through December 2023).
  2. •    Subventions will only be awarded for individually authored first books (multiple authored books are ineligible; an applicant who has already published an edited collection will not be disqualified).
  3. •    Only manuscripts written in English are eligible.
  4. •    In the view of the selection committee, manuscripts should make a substantial scholarly contribution to Jewish Studies.

Application Requirements

  1. •    CV
  2. •    A book proposal, including a description of the book project, chapter summaries, methods used, and information about the book’s relationship to the field and the academic and/or public market
  3. •    A budget delineating the subvention support requested; the budget should list any other subvention awards to which the author plans to apply
  4. •    Two sample chapters, including one which includes the book’s introduction
  5. •    Copy of the provisional book contract

Apply Here:


Applications are due by Wednesday, November 15, 2023. .


Contact Amy Weiss, Senior Grants and Professional Development Manager, at

2022-2023 Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Awards

2023 Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Award Recipients
2022 Jordan Schnitzer First Book Publication Award Recipients